About this item

From the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Ashes to AshesWhen the assistant manager of a hardware store in rural New Jersey shows up at the offices of Cubbage & Wakeham, an elite New York auction house, with a worn musical manuscript he hopes to sell for a small (or perhaps hefty) fortune, he is greeted with subdued snickers -- and not surprisingly. The title page of the document reads, "William Tell: A Dramatic Symphony" and is signed "Ludwig van Beethoven." The bearer of the composition claims he recently came upon it in an old attic trunk while cleaning out his lately deceased grandfather's home in Zurich; several accompanying documents suggest the work was written there during the summer of 1814.Since virtually all lovers of classical music -- and many others who can't tell Stravinsky from Springsteen -- know that Beethoven wrote nine sublime symphonies, and so evidence of a new-found tenth one by the supreme master of that musical form sets off an instant international uproar.

About the Author

Richard Kluger

won the Pulitzer Prize for , a searing history of the cigarette industry, and was a two-time National Book Award finalist (for and ) . He lives near San Francisco.

Read Next Recommendation

Discuss with your friends

Report incorrect product information.