About this item

The coin changed Ephraim's life. But how can he change it back?Sixteen-year-old Ephraim Scott is horrified when he comes home from school and finds his mother unconscious at the kitchen table, clutching a bottle of pills. The reason for her suicide attempt is even more dis­turbing: she thought she'd identified Ephraim's body at the hospital that day.Among his dead double's belongings, Ephraim finds a strange coin--a coin that grants wishes when he flips it. With a flick of his thumb, he can turn his alcoholic mother into a model parent and catch the eye of the girl he's liked since second grade. But the coin doesn't always change things for the better. And a bad flip can destroy other people's lives as easily as it rebuilds his own.The coin could give Ephraim everything he's ever wanted--if he learns to control its power before his luck runs out.

About the Author

E. C. Myers

E.C. Myers (he/him) was assembled in the U.S. from Korean and German parts and raised by a single mother and the public library in Yonkers, New York. He won the Andre Norton Nebula Award for his first novel, Fair Coin (2012) , and is the author of the S0S Thriller series and RWBY young adult books: After the Fall (2019) , Before the Dawn (2020) , and Fairy Tales of Remnant (2020) . His short fiction has been published in various anthologies, including Mother of Invention, A Thousand Beginnings and Endings, Hidden Youth, and Kaleidoscope. He also writes for the serialized podcast Orphan Black: The Next Chapter.

Read Next Recommendation

Report incorrect product information.