About this item

Amid the world-shattering pain of loss, what helps?"After the death of his beloved partner from cancer, Newland finds himself asking how effective his long years of Buddhist practice have been in helping him come to terms with overwhelming grief. This finely written book offers a lucid meditation on what it means to practice the Dharma when everything falls apart." - Stephen Batchelor, author of Buddhism without Beliefs and After Buddhism In the tradition of C. S. Lewis's A Grief Observed, Guy Newland offers this brave record of falling to pieces and then learning to make sense of his pain and grief within his spiritual tradition. Drawing inspiration from all corners of the Buddhist world - from Zen stories and the Dalai Lama, to Pema Chodron and ancient Pali texts - this book reverberates with honesty, kindness, and deep humanity.



About the Author

Guy Newland

Guy Newland is Professor of Religion and Chair of the Department of Philosophy and Religion at Central Michigan University, where he has taught since 1988. He holds a Ph.D. in the history of religions from the University of Virginia, where he studied Tibetan Buddhism with Jeffrey Hopkins. Newland has also studied with many Tibetan scholars in the U.S. and India. He is an editor of the three-volume translation Great Treatise on the Stages of the Path to Enlightenment and Changing Minds. He is the author of three other books on Tibetan Buddhism, including The Two Truths and Appearance and Reality.



Read Next Recommendation

Discuss with your friends


Report incorrect product information.