About this item

Readers who love Andrew Clements, Dan Gutman, Gordon Korman, and Tom Angleberger will find this charming, funny, easy-to-read middle-grade novel from the beloved Patrick Jennings an absolute hoot!When the new kid joins his class, Woodrow agrees with his schoolmates--Toulouse is really weird. He's short - kindergarten short - dresses in a suit like a grandpa, has huge eyes, and barely says a word. But Woodrow isn't exactly Mr. Popularity. The frequent target of the class bully himself, he figures that maybe all Toulouse needs is a chance. And when the two are put together in gym to play volleyball, they make quite the team. Toulouse can serve, set, and spike like a pro. He really knows how to fly around the court. But when the attention and teasing switch back to Woodrow, he learns that the new kid is great at something else: being a friend.



About the Author

Patrick Jennings

As a kid Patrick Jennings was afraid of African black mambas and tigers. He grew up in Northwestern Indiana.

He got his first pair of glasses when he was eight, and always wished he had a nickname like his friend, Mike, who didn't need glasses. Mike was called "Tiger" by everyone, even the teachers. Wow.

Patrick Jennings encourages you to call him "Tiger," or, if you wish, "Tigersnack." Both names are hidden inside his name, as are "Rat," "Ratpick," and "Stinking Carp," none of which he wishes to be called. "Jetpack," however, is acceptable.

Before he became a professional writer, Tigersnack was a paperboy, a busboy, a fry cook, a hoddy, a record store clerk, a courier, a teacher, and a librarian. Tiger has since published twenty-three books for young readers. Can you find them somewhere on this site? He bets you can.

Jetpack's books have featured such creatures as electric dogs, rocket cats, grebes, coots, kangaroo rats, werewolves, scorpions, horses grown from seed, delphine aliens, teenagers, snakes, guinea dogs, ferrets, British shorthairs, and actors.

He's still afraid of black mambas.



Read Next Recommendation

Discuss with your friends


Report incorrect product information.