About this item

In the early 1970s, literary journals that contained Andre Dubus short stories were passed around amongst admiring readers. When his debut collection Separate Flights arrived in 1975, it was immediately celebrated. "Dubus is the sort of writer who instructs the heart, and he ought to be discovered by any number of readers," wrote The Atlantic Monthly. The collection won the Boston Globe's Laurence L. & Thomas Winship/PEN New England Award.The collection includes the novella "We Don't Live Here Anymore," which served as the basis for the 2004 film of the same title (nominated for the Grand Jury Prize at the Sundance Film Festival) ; the novella also introduces Dubus's writer-protagonist Hank Allison, a character who continues to appear throughout his work.

About the Author

Andre Dubus

Andre Dubus (1936-1999) is considered one of the greatest American short story writers of the twentieth century. His collections of short fiction, which include Adultery & Other Choices (1977) , The Times Are Never So Bad (1983) , and The Last Worthless Evening (1986) , are notable for their spare prose and illuminative, albeit subtle, insights into the human heart. He is often compared to Anton Chekhov and revered as a "writer's writer."

Read Next Recommendation

Discuss with your friends

Report incorrect product information.