About this item

In this collection of novellas from Jim Harrison, the title novella is about an aging writer who spars with his estranged wife, weathers the slings and arrows of literary success, and tries to cope with the sow he buys on a whim. In ''Eggs,'' a woman reminisces about staying in London with her grandparents and collecting eggs at their country house. Years later, having never had a child, she attempts to do so. And in ''The Case of the Howling Buddhas,'' retired Detective Sunderson -- a recurring character from Harrison's New York Times bestseller The Big Seven -- is hired as a private investigator to look into a bizarre cult that achieves satori by howling along with howler monkeys at the zoo.

About the Author

Jim Harrison

Jim Harrison (1937 - 2016) , one of America's most versatile and celebrated writers, was the author of over thirty books of poetry, fiction, and nonfiction--including Legends of the Fall, the acclaimed trilogy of novellas, and The Shape of the Journey: New and Collected Poems. His books have been translated into two dozen languages, and in 2007 he was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Letters. With a fondness for open space and anonymous thickets, he divided his time between Montana and southern Arizona.

Read Next Recommendation

Discuss with your friends

Report incorrect product information.