About this item

From internationally bestselling author of the "gripping" (Michael Connelly, #1 New York Times bestselling author) Into the Lion's Mouth comes the extraordinary true story of Odette Sansom, the British spy who operated in occupied France and fell in love with her commanding officer during World War II - perfect for fans of Unbroken, The Nightingale, and Code Girls.

The year is 1942, and World War II is in full swing. Odette Sansom decides to follow in her war hero father's footsteps by becoming an SOE agent to aid Britain and her beloved homeland, France. Five failed attempts and one plane crash later, she finally lands in occupied France to begin her mission. It is here that she meets her commanding officer Captain Peter Churchill.

As they successfully complete mission after mission, Peter and Odette fall in love. All the while, they are being hunted by the cunning German secret police sergeant, Hugo Bleicher, who finally succeeds in capturing them. They are sent to Paris's Fresnes prison, and from there to concentration camps in Germany where they are starved, beaten, and tortured. But in the face of despair, they never give up hope, their love for each other, or the whereabouts of their colleagues.

In Code Name: Lise, Larry Loftis paints a portrait of true courage, patriotism, and love - of two incredibly heroic people who endured unimaginable horrors and degradations. He seamlessly weaves together the touching romance between Odette and Peter and the thrilling cat and mouse game between them and Sergeant Bleicher. With this amazing testament to the human spirit, Loftis proves once again that he is adept at writing "nonfiction that reads like a page-turning novel" (Parade) .



About the Author

Larry Loftis

Larry Loftis writes narrative nonfiction set within WWII espionage. By utilizing the techniques of fiction, however, his writing reads like a modern thriller. After finishing INTO THE LION'S MOUTH, Penguin editor Tom Colgan (famously Tom Clancy's editor) replied: "It's a good thing this is nonfiction because it's too incredible to be a novel."

Larry was born and raised in Dallas and moved with his family to Orlando when he was twelve. He attended the University of Florida for undergrad and law school, where he served on the Law Review as the Senior Executive Editor and Senior Articles Editor. Before becoming a full-time writer, Larry was an AV-rated attorney and published scholarly legal articles in the University of Florida Law Review, University of Georgia Journal of International and Comparative Law, Suffolk University Transnational Law Journal, National Law Journal, Florida Bar Journal, and Florida Banking.



Read Next Recommendation

Discuss with your friends


Report incorrect product information.