About this item

In this breathtakingly bold, intricately constructed novel set in 18th century Stockholm, a dying man searches among the city's teeming streets, dark corners, and intriguing inhabitants to unmask a ruthless murderer - perfect for fans of Perfume and The Alienist.

Named Best Debut Novel of 2017 by the Swedish Academy of Crime Writers
"Thrilling, unnerving, clever, and beautiful." - Fredrik Backman, international bestselling author

It is 1793. Four years after the storming of the Bastille in France and more than a year after the death of King Gustav III of Sweden, paranoia and whispered conspiracies are Stockholm's daily bread. A promise of violence crackles in the air as ordinary citizens feel increasingly vulnerable to the whims of those in power.

When Mickel Cardell, a crippled ex-solider and former night watchman, finds a mutilated body floating in the city's malodorous lake, he feels compelled to give the unidentifiable man a proper burial. For Cecil Winge, a brilliant lawyer turned consulting detective to the Stockholm police, a body with no arms, legs, or eyes is a formidable puzzle and one last chance to set things right before he loses his battle to consumption. Together, Winge and Cardell scour Stockholm to discover the body's identity, encountering the sordid underbelly of the city's elite.

Meanwhile, Kristofer Blix - the handsome son of a farmer - leaves rural life for the alluring charms of the capital and ambitions of becoming a doctor. His letters to his sister chronicle his wild good times and terrible misfortunes, which lead him down a treacherous path.

In another corner of the city, a young woman - Anna-Stina - is consigned to the workhouse after she upsets her parish priest. Her unlikely escape plan takes on new urgency when a sadistic guard marks her as his next victim.

Over the course of the novel, these extraordinary characters cross paths and collide in shocking and unforgettable ways. Niklas Natt och Dag paints a deliciously dark portrait of late 18th century Stockholm, and the frightful yet fascinating reality lurking behind the powdered and painted veneer of the era.



Read Next Recommendation

Discuss with your friends


Report incorrect product information.