About this item

For fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Martha Hall Kelly's Lilac Girls, this powerful novel of fate, resistance, and family - by the international bestselling author of The Sweetness of Forgetting and When We Meet Again - tells the tale of an American woman, a British RAF pilot, and a young Jewish teenager whose lives intersect in occupied Paris during the tumultuous days of World War II.When newlywed Ruby Henderson Benoit arrives in Paris in 1939 with her French husband Marcel, she imagines strolling arm in arm along the grand boulevards, awash in the golden afternoon light. But war is looming on the horizon, and as France falls to the Nazis, her marriage begins to splinter, too. Charlotte Dacher is eleven when the Germans roll into the French capital, their sinister swastika flags snapping in the breeze.



About the Author

Kristin Harmel

Kristin Harmel is an international bestselling novelist whose books have been translated into numerous languages and are sold all over the world. A former reporter for People magazine, Kristin has also freelanced for many other publications, including American Baby, Men's Health, Glamour, Woman's Day, Travel Leisure, and more. Her latest novels -- The Sweetness of Forgetting, The Life Intended, How to Save a Life (a long novella) , and When We Meet Again -- are out now from Gallery Books, a division of Simon & Schuster. Kristin graduated summa cum laude from the University of Florida's College of Journalism and Communications (Go Gators!) . She lives in Orlando, Fla., with her husband and son.



Read Next Recommendation

Report incorrect product information.