About this item

People's Book of the Week

"The Devil Wears Prada meets Primates of Park Avenue." - The New York Times

"Perfect for fans of Curtis Sittenfeld's Prep." - BOOKLIST

Top 6 Books You Need to Read - BuzzFeed

Best Books to Give Every Book Lover on Your List - Town and Country

One admission can change your life...forever.

When ambitious grad student Kate Pearson's handsome French "almost fiancé" ditches her, she definitely does not roll with the punches, despite the best efforts of family and friends. It seems that nothing will get Kate out of pajamas and back into the world.

Miraculously, one cringe-worthy job interview leads to a position in the admissions department at the revered Hudson Day School. Kate's instantly thrown into a highly competitive and occasionally absurd culture, where she interviews all types of children: suitable, wildly unsuitable, charming, loathsome, ingratiating, or spoiled beyond all measure. And then there are the Park Avenue parents who refuse to take no for an answer.

As Kate begins to learn there's no room for self-pity or nonsense during the height of admissions season or life itself, her sister and friends find themselves keeping secrets, dropping bombshells, and arguing with each other about how to keep Kate on her feet. Meanwhile, Kate seems to be doing very nicely, thank you, and is even beginning to find out that her broken heart is very much on the mend. Welcome to the world of Small Admissions.



Read Next Recommendation

Discuss with your friends


Report incorrect product information.