About this item

A stunningly ambitious and beautiful novel, perfect for fans of The Nightingale, Schindler's List, and All the Light We Cannot See, about twelve-year-old Hannah Rosenthal's harrowing experience fleeing Nazi-occupied Germany with her family and best friend, only to discover that the overseas asylum they had been promised is an illusion.

Before everything changed, young Hannah Rosenthal lived a charmed life. But now, in 1939, the streets of Berlin are draped with red, white, and black flags; her family's fine possessions are hauled away; and they are no longer welcome in the places that once felt like home. Hannah and her best friend, Leo Martin, make a pact: whatever the future has in store for them, they'll meet it together.

Hope appears in the form of the SS St. Louis, a transatlantic liner offering Jews safe passage out of Germany. After a frantic search to obtain visas, the Rosenthals and the Martins depart on the luxurious ship bound for Havana. Life on board the St. Louis is like a surreal holiday for the refugees, with masquerade balls, exquisite meals, and polite, respectful service. But soon ominous rumors from Cuba undermine the passengers' fragile sense of safety. From one day to the next, impossible choices are offered, unthinkable sacrifices are made, and the ship that once was their salvation seems likely to become their doom.

Seven decades later in New York City, on her twelfth birthday, Anna Rosen receives a strange package from an unknown relative in Cuba, her great-aunt Hannah. Its contents will inspire Anna and her mother to travel to Havana to learn the truth about their family's mysterious and tragic past, a quest that will help Anna understand her place and her purpose in the world.

The German Girl sweeps from Berlin at the brink of the Second World War to Cuba on the cusp of revolution, to New York in the wake of September 11, before reaching its deeply moving conclusion in the tumult of present-day Havana. Based on a true story, this masterful novel gives voice to the joys and sorrows of generations of exiles, forever seeking a place called home.



About the Author

Armando Lucas Correa

With 20 years of experience in Hispanic media, award-winning journalist and author Armando Lucas Correa is the Editor in Chief of PEOPLE EN ESPAÑOL, the top selling Hispanic magazine in the U.S. with more than 7 million readers every month. In his role, he oversees the editorial content of the magazine, PeopleEnEspanol.com and its digital editions for tablets and mobile.

Correa is the recipient of various outstanding achievement awards from the National Association of Hispanic Publications and the Society of Professional Journalism. He is the magazine's primary spokesperson and regularly appears on national Spanish-language television programs discussing celebrity news and scoops.

His first novel The German Girl will be published in November in Enlgish and Spanish by Atria Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster.

His book En busca de Emma (In Search of Emma: Two Fathers, One Daughter and the Dream of a Family) was published by Rayo, Harper Collins in 2007 and for Aguilar, Santillana (Mexico) in 2009.

He currently resides in Manhattan with his partner and their three children


Armando Lucas Correa nació en 1959, en Guantánamo, Cuba.
Comenzó su carrera como crítico de teatro y danza a mediados de la década de1980, tras graduarse de Teatrología-Dramaturgia en el Instituto Superior de Arte de La Habana.
Fue editor de la revista cubana de artes escénicas, Tablas y corresponsal de la revista española El Público.
Como asesor dramatúrgico, trabajó en la trilogía de teatro norteamericano con el grupo de teatro El Público e impartió clases de análisis dramatúrgico a los estudiantes de guión de la Escuela Internacional de Cine de San Antonio de los Baños.
En Cuba publicó la obra de teatro Examen final, Premio 13 de marzo de la Universidad de La Habana.
En 1991 llegó a Miami y comenzó a trabajar para el periódico El Nuevo Herald como reportero.
En 1997 se mudó a Nueva York, contratado como escritor principal de la recién creada revista People en Español, de Time Inc, y desde finales del 2007 es el director editorial.
www.armandolucascorrea.com

"His journey of disappointment, surprise, heartbreak and, finally, triumph serves as the narrative for his poignant Spanish-language book, En Busca de Emma: Dos Padres, Una Hija y el Sueño de una Familia".
Ana Veciana-Suarez/The Miami Herald http://www.miamiherald.com/living/story/1331163.html

"El libro es como una cámara cinematográfica lanzada al interior del alma de un ser muy especial, de alguien que no quiso ceder a las presiones sociales ni renunciar a la posibilidad de entregarse con todo su amor a una nueva criatura".
Olga Connor/El Nuevo Herald
http://www.elnuevoherald.com/galeria/artes/story/592373.html



Read Next Recommendation

Discuss with your friends


Report incorrect product information.