About this item

Every year in Quill, thirteen-year-olds are sorted into categories: the strong, intelligent Wanteds go to university, and the artistic Unwanteds are sent to their deaths

Thirteen-year-old Alex tries his hardest to be stoic when his fate is announced as Unwanted, even while leaving behind his twin, Aaron, a Wanted. Upon arrival at the destination where he expected to be eliminated, however, Alex discovers a stunning secret--behind the mirage of the "death farm" there is instead a place called Artime.

In Artime, each child is taught to cultivate their creative abilities and learn how to use them magically, weaving spells through paintbrushes and musical instruments. Everything Alex has ever known changes before his eyes, and it's a wondrous transformation.

But it's a rare, unique occurence for twins to be separated between Wanted and Unwanted, and as Alex and Aaron's bond stretches across their separation, a threat arises for the survival of Artime that will pit brother against brother in an ultimate, magical battle.

About the Author

Lisa McMann

Hi, I'm Lisa McMann, New York Times bestselling author of THE UNWANTEDS series and the WAKE trilogy.

What's new with me? A spinoff series called UNWANTEDS QUESTS! Book 1, Dragon Captives, is on sale now.

Also check out:
The first book in the GOING WILD series! It's about a 12-year-old girl named Charlie Wilde who finds a mysterious bracelet that gives her animal superpowers. Book 2, PROJECT CHIMERA, will arrive in fall of 2017, and book 3 in fall of 2018.

My award-winning, bestselling fantasy series, THE UNWANTEDS, is about a society where 13-year-olds are sorted into groups.
The kids who obey the strict no-creativity rules of Quill are considered Wanted, and they get to go to university.
The kids who have been caught doing something creative are considered Unwanted, and they are sent to their deaths. Follow 13-year-old twins Aaron and Alex as they are forced down
opposite paths.

There are 7 books in The Unwanteds series, and a new spinoff series continues the story:
Book 2, THE UNWANTEDS: Island of Silence
Book 3, THE UNWANTEDS: Island of Fire
Book 4, THE UNWANTEDS: Island of Legends
Book 5, THE UNWANTEDS: Island of Shipwrecks
Book 6, THE UNWANTEDS: Island of Graves
Book 7, THE UNWANTEDS: Island of Dragons

THE UNWANTEDS QUESTS series is coming!
Book 1, THE UNWANTEDS QUESTS: Dragon Captives comes out in spring 2017
Book 2 will be out in spring 2018
If this series does well, there will be more books to come, so spread the word!

For older readers, I've written the WAKE trilogy, about a
seventeen-year-old girl named Janie who gets sucked into other people's
dreams. I have two stand-alone young adult thrillers, CRYER'S CROSS and DEAD

Also, GASP, the final book in the VISIONS series, is now available. It follows CRASH (Book 1) and BANG (Book 2) , and is about a teen girl who sees visions of catastrophic events that are about to happen, and has to figure out how to stop them. Fans of WAKE will enjoy this trilogy!

I grew up in Michigan and now I live in Arizona with my husband, known as Mr. Lisa on social media (aka Matt, a musician) , and two cats. We have two adult children: an artist and an actor.

Want the inside scoop? Find me on Instagram, Snapchat, and Twitter @lisa_mcmann. Facebook
http://www.facebook.com/McMannFan. My website is lisamcmann.com

Unwanteds fans should check out the dedicated website at UnwantedsSeries.com.

Read Next Recommendation

Discuss with your friends

Report incorrect product information.