About this item

Named one of Kirkus Reviews Best Nonfiction Books of 2014 One of NBC Newss 10 Best Latino Books of 2014 From PENHemingway award winner Brando Skyhorse comes this stunning, heartfelt memoir in the vein of The Glass Castle or The Tender Bar, the true story of a boys turbulent childhood growing up with five stepfathers and the mother who was determined to give her son everything but the truth. When he was three years old, Brando Kelly Ulloa was abandoned by his Mexican father. His mother, Maria, dreaming of a more exciting life, saw no reason for her son to live his life as a Mexican just because he started out as one. The life of Brando Skyhorse, the American Indian son of an incarcerated political activist, was about to begin. Through a series of letters to Paul Skyhorse Johnson, a stranger in prison for armed robbery, Maria reinvents herself and her young son as American Indians in the colorful Mexican-American neighborhood of Echo Park, California.



About the Author

Brando Skyhorse

Born and raised in Echo Park, California, Brando Skyhorse is a graduate of Stanford University and the MFA Writers' Workshop program at UC Irvine.

His first book, The Madonnas of Echo Park, received the 2011 PEN/Hemingway award and the Sue Kaufman Prize for First Fiction from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. His next book, Take This Man, is a memoir to be published in June 2014.

Find out more at brandoskyhorse.com



Read Next Recommendation

Discuss with your friends


Report incorrect product information.