About this item

From the critically acclaimed author Bradford Morrow, a literary quest novel that travels from Nazi-occupied Prague to turn-of-the-millennium New York as a young musicologist seeks to solve the mystery behind an eighteenth-century sonata manuscript Music and war, war and music--these are the twin motifs around which Bradford Morrow, recipient of the Academy Award in Fiction from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, has composed his magnum opus, The Prague Sonata, a novel more than a dozen years in the making.In the early days of the new millennium, pages of a worn and weathered original sonata manuscript--the gift of a Czech immigrant living out her final days in Queens--come into the hands of Meta Taverner, a young musicologist whose concert piano career was cut short by an injury.

About the Author

Bradford Morrow

Bradford Morrow has lived for the past thirty years in New York City and rural upstate New York, though he grew up in Colorado and lived and worked in a variety of places in between. While in his mid-teens, he traveled through rural Honduras as a member of the Amigos de las Americas program, serving as a medical volunteer in the summer of 1967. The following year he was awarded an American Field Service scholarship to finish his last year of high school as a foreign exchange student at a Liceo Scientifico in Cuneo, Italy. In 1973, he took time off from studying at the University of Colorado to live in Paris for a year. After doing graduate work on a Danforth Fellowship at Yale University, he moved to Santa Barbara, California, where he worked as a rare book dealer until relocating to New York City in 1981, where he began editing the literary journal "Conjunctions" and writing novels.

Morrow's first five novels--"Come Sunday" (1988) , "The Almanac Branch" (1992, PEN/Faulkner Award finalist) , "Trinity Fields" (Los Angeles Times Book Prize finalist, 1995) , "Giovanni's Gift" (1997) and "Ariel's Crossing" (2002) --are all available as e-books from Open Road Media. His sixth novel, "The Diviner's Tale" (2011) , was published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt in the U.S. and in England with Corvus (Atlantic) , as well as an audiobook with Blackstone. His first collection of short stories, "The Uninnocent," was published in 2011 by Pegasus Books, and a novella, "The Nature of MY Inheritance," was published earlier in 2014 by the Mysterious Bookshop. His most recent novel, "The Forgers," is just out with Mysterious Press/Grove Atlantic. He is completing work on his seventh novel, "The Prague Sonata," as well as a book of creative nonfiction works, "Meditations on a Shadow."

In collaboration with eighteen artists, Morrow is the author of "A Bestiary," as well as a book for children, "Didn't Didn't Do It," illustrated by the legendary Gahan Wilson. Morrow has also edited and written a number of other books, including "Posthumes" (poetry) , "The New Gothic" (with Patrick McGrath) and "The Complete Poems of Kenneth Rexroth" (with Sam Hamill) and has contributed to many anthologies and journals. As founding editor of "Conjunctions," he has edited over 55 volumes of the journal from 1981 to the present. An anthology on death, "The Inevitable: Contemporary Writers Confront Death," co-edited with David Shields, was published by W.W. Norton in 2011.

Morrow's many awards include an Academy Award in Literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, a Guggenheim Fellowship, O. Henry and Pushcart Prizes, as well as the PEN/Nora Magid Award. He has taught at Princeton, Columbia, and Brown Universities and for

Read Next Recommendation

Discuss with your friends

Report incorrect product information.