About this item

A USA Today Bestselling Series A Needlecraft Mystery When the local senior complex, Watered Silk, asks Betsy to teach a class on the tricky punch needle technique, she jumps at the chance to win some new customers for Crewel World. It turns out the business opportunity that results isn?t for the needlework shop. A young woman is found floating in the therapy pool, and Betsy?s sleuthing skills are immediately called upon. But the list of suspects is more twisted than any Betsy has encountered before.

About the Author

Monica Ferris

Has published as (real name) Mary Kuhfeld (with Gail Frazer) [from the author's own website) Mary Monica Pulver (her maiden name) is an incidental Hoosier - Terre Haute, Indiana, had the hospital closest to her parents' home in Marshall, Illinois. She spent the later part of her childhood and early adult life in Wisconsin, graduating from high school in Milwaukee. She was a journalist in the U.S. Navy for six and a half years (two in London) , and later attended the University of Wisconsin at Madison. She is married to a museum curator. Mary Monica sold her first short story, "Pass the Word," to Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine, in 1983, and has since sold more than two dozen short stories to anthologies and magazines, including some in Germany, England, Italy and France. She has appeared in such anthologies as The Mammoth Book of Historical Detectives, The Mammoth Book of Historical Whodunnits, Shakespearean Mysteries, Royal Whodunnits, Unholy Orders, Murder Most Crafty, and Silence of the Loons. Her first mystery novel, Murder at the War, appeared from St. Martin's Press in 1987 and was nominated for an Anthony as Best First Novel. The Unforgiving Minutes and Ashes to Ashes followed in 1988; but Original Sin was sold to Walker, who also presented the fifth book, Show Stopper, in May of 1992. Berkley Diamond brought these mysteries out in paperback. They feature detective Peter Brichter - a cop one reviewer said was "a hardboiled sleuth who's somehow landed in a cozy mystery". Berkley published six medieval mysteries Mary Monica wrote in collaboration with Gail Frazer under the pseudonym Margaret Frazer: The Novice's Tale, The Servant's Tale (nominated for an Edgar as Best Original Paperback of 1993) , The Outlaw's Tale, The Bishop's Tale, The Boy's Tale, and The Murderer's Tale. The detective in the mysteries is a nun, Dame Frevisse, a niece by marriage of Thomas Chaucer, the legendary Geoffrey's son. The stories take place in England in the 1430s. Gail presently continues the series alone. In 1998 Mary Monica began writing a new series for Berkley featuring amateur needleworking sleuth Betsy Devonshire. Set in Excelsior, Minnesota, Crewel World came out in March and was followed by Framed in Lace, A Stitch in Time, Unraveled Sleeve, A Murderous Yarn, Hanging by A Thread, Cutwork, Crewel Yule, Embroidered Truths, Sins and Needles, Knitting Bones, Thai Die, Blackwork, and Buttons and Bones. Threadbare will appear in December of 2011, and she is at work on And Then You Dye. The first six were paperback originals. Subsequent books were hardcovers followed by paperback editions. These light and traditional novels are written under the pseudonym Monica Ferris, and all have gone to multiple printings - the first one is in its eighteenth printing! Mary Monica has taught courses on mystery writing to children at North Hennepin Community College, gifted chil

Read Next Recommendation

Discuss with your friends

Report incorrect product information.