About this item

"Kraus gets under your skin with brutal, elegant efficiency. Necessarily horrifying, devastatingly timely." -- Kiersten White, New York Times-bestselling author of The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein and Slayer

From New York Times-bestselling author Daniel Kraus comes a breakneck, genre-defying YA thriller perfect for fans of Kiersten White, Neal Shusterman, and M. T. Anderson.

Liv Fleming's father went missing more than two years ago, not long after he claimed to have been abducted by aliens. Liv has long accepted that he's dead, though that doesn't mean she has given up their traditions. Every Sunday, she and her lifelong friend Doug Monk trudge through the woods to check the traps Lee left behind, traps he set to catch the aliens he so desperately believed were after him.

But Liv is done with childhood fantasies. Done pretending she believes her father's absurd theories. Done going through the motions for Doug's sake. However, on the very day she chooses to destroy the traps, she discovers in one of them a creature so inhuman it can only be one thing. In that moment, she's faced with a painful realization: her dad was telling the truth. And no one believed him.

Now, she and Doug have a choice to make. They can turn the alien over to the authorities ... or they can take matters into their own hands.

On the heels of the worldwide success of The Shape of Water, Daniel Kraus returns with a horrifying and heartbreaking thriller about the lengths people go to find justice and the painful reality of grief.


"Bent Heavens is the darkest, angriest alien horror story that I've ever encountered. Hell. Yes." -- Stephanie Perkins, New York Times-bestselling author of There's Someone Inside Your House



About the Author

Daniel Kraus

Daniel Kraus has landed on Entertainment Weekly's Top 10 Books of 2015 (THE DEATH AND LIFE OF ZEBULON FINCH) , won two Odyssey Awards (for both ROTTERS and SCOWLER) , and has been a Library Guild selection, YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults, Parent's Choice Gold Award winner, Bram Stoker finalist, and more. He co-authored TROLLHUNTERS with filmmaker Guillermo del Toro, and his work has been translated into over 15 languages. Visit him at danielkraus.com.



Read Next Recommendation

Discuss with your friends


Report incorrect product information.