About this item

In the tradition of Lisa Scottoline and Jodi Picoult comes a novel from critically-acclaimed author Nina Darnton about a woman who'll go to any lengths to become a mother.

When Marcia, a driven, successful editor in New York with a loving husband, finds she can't conceive a child, it rips the heart out of her seemingly-perfect life. Her desire to be a mother has become her obsession, and after trying and failing to become pregnant by every known method, she focuses all of her energy on her one remaining option: surrogacy. Her husband resists, and tries to convince her that they can be happy without a child; but faced with her unyielding determination, he relents, and reluctantly goes along with the idea. Everything looks good ... until an unexpected tragedy occurs that changes their plans, their marriage, and their lives forever.


Praise for The Perfect Mother:

"A fast-paced thriller with the kind of emotional impact that transcends a simple whodunit." -- Kirkus Reviews

"This haunting page-turner will keep you up all night and be long remembered after the last page has been read." -- Mary Higgins Clark



About the Author

Nina Darnton

A journalist for thirty years, Nina Darnton wrote her first novel, An African Affair three years ago and never looked back. Her second novel, The Perfect Mother will be published by Plume on November 29th, 2014. Nina is married to the journalist and novelist John Darnton. They have three children and four grandchildren and live in New York City and New Paltz, New York.



Read Next Recommendation

Discuss with your friends


Report incorrect product information.