About this item

When a mysterious figure appears in Three Pines one cold November day, Armand Gamache and the rest of the villagers are at first curious. Then wary. Through rain and sleet, the figure stands unmoving, staring ahead.

From the moment its shadow falls over the village, Gamache, now Chief Superintendent of the Sûreté du Québec, suspects the creature has deep roots and a dark purpose. Yet he does nothing. What can he do? Only watch and wait. And hope his mounting fears are not realized.

But when the figure vanishes overnight and a body is discovered, it falls to Gamache to discover if a debt has been paid or levied.

Months later, on a steamy July day as the trial for the accused begins in Montréal, Chief Superintendent Gamache continues to struggle with actions he set in motion that bitter November, from which there is no going back. More than the accused is on trial. Gamache's own conscience is standing in judgment.

In her latest utterly gripping book, number-one New York Times bestselling author Louise Penny shatters the conventions of the crime novel to explore what Gandhi called the court of conscience. A court that supersedes all others.

About the Author

Louise Penny

LOUISE PENNY, a former CBC radio journalist, is the #1 New York Times and Globe and Mail bestselling author of twelve Chief Inspector Armand Gamache novels. She has been awarded the John Creasey Dagger, Nero, Macavity and Barry Awards, as well as two each of the Arthur Ellis and Dilys Awards. Additionally, Penny has won six Agatha Awards and five Anthony Awards, and has been a finalist for an Edgar Award. She lives in a small village south of Montréal. Her first Armand Gamache novel, "Still Life" won the New Blood Dagger, Arthur Ellis, Barry, Anthony and Dilys Awards. : Best Novel o 2007 - A Fatal Grace - Winner o 2008 - The Cruelest Month - Winner o 2009 - The Brutal Telling - Winner o 2010 - Bury Your Dead - Winner o 2013 - The Beautiful Mystery - Winner o 2006 - Still Life - Winner Best First Crime Novelo 2011 - Bury Your Dead - Winner Best Crime Novel o 2007 - Still Life - Best First Novel Winner o 2007 - Still Life - Best First Novel Winner o 2009 - The Brutal Telling - Best Novel Winner o 2010 - Bury Your Dead - Best Novel Winner o 2013 - The Beautiful Mystery - Best Novel Winner o 2011 - Bury Your Dead - Best Mystery Novel Winner o 2013 - The Beautiful Mystery - Best Mystery Novel Winner

Read Next Recommendation

Discuss with your friends

Report incorrect product information.