About this item

The first in a new series, Snook Wallow: A Wrongful Conviction Mystery weaves together the stories of two illegal immigrants and the men convicted of killing them. After ten years on death row for murdering a Jane Doe, Logan Murphy is nearing the end of the line. Logan's last hope rests with Cate Stokes, a retired lawyer who reluctantly agrees to take his case. Cate's relentless pursuit of the truth leads her to the discovery of a human trafficking ring in South Florida and the chilling realization that Jane Doe was not their only victim.

About the Author

Janet Heijens

In her debut novel, WRONGFUL CONVICTION, Janet Heijens takes on a justice system gone wrong. Drawing on her memories of her years growing up on the South Jersey shore, the author sets the story in the fictional town of Northwood, incorporating many of the places that will feel familiar to those who know the area well.

With critical acclaim, Kirkus Review states, "A high school teacher's world goes haywire when a law student probes a 30-year-old case. Heijens premiers a rare heroine who's both gritty and reflective. Here's hoping for a series."

Heijens' second book, SNOOK WALLOW transports the reader to South Florida where the death penalty is the law of the land and human trafficking abounds. With SNOOK WALLOW, Heijens proves once again that she can keep her readers guessing until the last page is turned.

A founding member of the Sarasota Literary Guild, Ms. Heijens is also a member of the Mystery Writer's of America and the Florida Gulf Coast Sisters in Crime. She lives with her husband, Pieter in Sarasota, Florida.

You can find Janet Heijens at www.janetheijens.com or visit her on Facebook

Read Next Recommendation

Discuss with your friends

Report incorrect product information.