About this item

Timely and heartfelt, Rollins' graphic novel debut The Furnace is a literary science fiction glimpse into our future, in the vein of mainstream successes for fans of Black Mirror and The Twilight ZoneOne decision. Thousands of lives ruined. Can someone ever repent for the sins of their past?When Professor Walton Honderich was a young grad student, he participated in a government prison program and committed an act that led to the death of his friend, the brilliant physicist Marc Lepore, and resulted in unimaginable torment for an entire class of people across the United States. Twenty years later, now an insecure father slipping into alcoholism, Walton struggles against the ghosts that haunt him in a futuristic New York City.With full-color art and a dark, compelling work of psychological suspense and a cutting-edge critique of our increasingly technological world, The Furnace speaks fluently to the terrifying scope of the surveillance state, the dangerous allure of legacy, and the hope of redemption despite our flaws.



About the Author

Prentis Rollins

Prentis Rollins was born in North Carolina, grew up in the suburbs of Washington D.C., and studied philosophy at the University of Southern California and Rutgers in New Jersey. Since 1993 he has worked for: DC Comics (on such titles as 'Green Lantern: Rebirth', 'DC: One Million', 'Impulse', and 'Batman: The Ultimate Evil') , Marvel Comics ('New X-men') , Milestone Media ('Hardware', 'Static') , Disney Television Animation ('PB and J Otter', 'Doug's First Movie', '101 Dalmations') , and many others. His debut graphic novel 'The Furnace' will be published by Tor Books in July of 2018. His lifelong obsessions are philosophy, science-fiction, and the strange territory in which these two things meet. He lives in London with his wife and three children. See his work at www.prentisrollinsart.com/



Discuss with your friends


Report incorrect product information.