About this item

"Complex, human characters, and a dark, meaty story, and fine writing, and a great sense of place - this is one of the best crime thrillers of the year. Sign me up as a big-time Fox fan!" -- Lee Child

Crimson Lake by Sydney-based, Ned Kelly award-winning author Candice Fox is a thrilling contemporary crime novel set in Queensland, Australia, perfect for readers of authors like James Patterson, Harlan Coben, Lisa Gardner, and Tana French.

Six minutes in the wrong place at the wrong time--that's all it took to ruin Sydney Detective Ted Conkaffey's life. Accused but not convicted of the brutal abduction of a 13-year-old girl, Ted is now a free man--and public enemy number one. He flees north to keep a low profile amidst the steamy, croc-infested wetlands of Crimson Lake.

There, Ted's lawyer introduces him to private investigator Amanda Pharrell, herself a convicted murderer. Perhaps it's the self-isolation and murderous past that makes her so adept at tracking lost souls in the wilderness, but her latest target, missing author Jake Scully, has a life more shrouded in secrets than her own.

Not entirely convinced Amanda is a cold-blooded killer, Ted agrees to help with her investigation, a case full of deception and obsession, while secretly digging into her troubled past. The residents of Crimson Lake are watching the pair's every move...once Ted's true identity becomes known, the threats against him become violent and the town offers no place to hide.



Discuss with your friends


Report incorrect product information.