About this item

Is a tragic discovery from the past triggering a number of shocking present-day events?
When Hannah loses out on the cottage of her dreams because of an unscrupulous real estate agent, she and her husband, Paul, buy a fixer-upper instead. But contractors restoring the chimney soon make a tragic discovery: the mummified body of an infant.
Hannah, already researching the history of her home in the county archives, is searching for clues to the dead infant's identity when more shocking events occur. Suddenly, her access to the courthouse is denied and the records she has been examining are slated for destruction. Someone with money, influence or both is trying to make sure incriminating information stays buried. Can Hannah solve the crimes before the evidence and over one hundred years of county history go up in smoke?

About the Author

Marcia Talley

Marcia Talley is the Agatha and Anthony award-winning author of DAUGHTER OF ASHES and thirteen previous mystery novels featuring Maryland survivor and sleuth, Hannah Ives.

Marcia is author/editor of two star-studded collaborative novels, NAKED CAME THE PHOENIX and I'D KILL FOR THAT set in a fashionable health spa and an exclusive gated community, respectively. Her award-winning short stories appear in more than a dozen collections. A recent story, "Can You Hear Me Now? " is featured in TWO OF THE DEADLIEST: NEW TALES OF LUST, GREED AND MURDER FROM OUTSTANDING WOMEN OF MYSTERY, edited by New York Times best-selling author, Elizabeth George.

Marcia is past President of Sisters in Crime International, serves on the board of the Mid-Atlantic Chapter of the Mystery Writers of America and is a member of the Crime Writers' Association (UK) and the Authors' Guild of America. With her husband, retired Naval Academy professor, Barry Talley, she divides her time between Annapolis, Maryland and SeaLeggs, an island cottage in Hope Town, Bahamas.

Read Next Recommendation

Discuss with your friends

Report incorrect product information.