About this item

An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A. S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book

Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, an emigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history. As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents' scribe, the elusive "Aleph." Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must make in order to reconcile the life of the heart and mind.



About the Author

Rachel Kadish

I write because it's my way of metabolizing life. To paraphrase Henry James: I don't really know what I think until I see what I say. That habit of trying to work out what I think of the world, sentence by sentence, has led me to write two novels and one novella, plus a few dozen essays and stories. ..and for quite a while now I've been at work on a historical novel (more on that soon, I hope) .Hands down the most exciting thing I've been able to participate in lately, though, is the debut of a new outlet for fiction: the Rooster app () , which publishes fiction in downloadable serialized form. Remember all those tales of readers waiting on the docks to receive the next installments of the story of Dickens' Little Nell? Downloadable serialized fiction is just like that. Except your iPhone is the ship. My novella, I WAS HERE, is their debut title. ...serialized in 17 installments and paired with Melville's Billy Budd, which couldn't possibly make me happier. For those who miss the serialization, the novella will be available as an eBook in April.



Read Next Recommendation

Discuss with your friends


Report incorrect product information.