About this item

An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A. S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book

Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, an emigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history.
As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents' scribe, the elusive "Aleph."

Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must make in order to reconcile the life of the heart and mind.



About the Author

Rachel Kadish

I often begin writing when something is bothering me. Years ago, I was thinking about Virginia Woolf's question: what if Shakespeare had had an equally talented sister? Woolf's answer: She died without writing a word. What, I wondered, would it take for a woman of that era, with that kind of capacious intelligence, not to die without writing a word?For one thing, she'd have to be a genius at breaking rules. My novel The Weight of Ink reaches back in time to ask the question: what does it take for a woman not to be defeated when everything around her is telling her to sit down and mind her manners? I started writing with two characters in mind, both women who don't mind their manners: a contemporary historian named Helen Watt and a seventeenth century Inquisition refugee named Ester Velasquez. It's been a delight working on their story. The Weight of Ink is my third novel, but I've also written two other novels and one novella, plus a few dozen essays and stories. Whether I'm writing fiction or nonfiction, I put words to paper because it's my way of metabolizing life. To paraphrase Henry James: I don't really know what I think until I see what I say. Thanks for visiting this page, and for your interest in books.



Read Next Recommendation

Discuss with your friends


Report incorrect product information.