About this item

In a beach town overrun with vacationers and newly colonized by socialites, one woman goes to extreme lengths when the life she loves is upended. The ultimate summer read, this novel of money, class, and family is perfect for fans of Meg Wolitzer, Curtis Sittenfeld, and Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney's The Nest.

No matter what the world throws her way, at least Ruthie Beamish has the house. Lovingly renovated, located by the sea in a quiet Long Island village two ferry rides from the glitzier Hamptons, the house is her nest egg - the retirement account shared with her ex-husband, Mike, and the college fund for their teenage daughter, Jem. The catch? To afford the house, Ruthie must let it go during the best part of the year.

It's Memorial Day weekend and Ruthie has packed up their belongings for what Jem calls "the summer bummer": the family's annual exodus to make way for renters. This year, the Hamptons set has arrived. Adeline Clay is elegant, connected, and accompanied by a "gorgeous satellite" stepson.

The widow of a blue-chip artist, living in a world defined by luxury and ease, Adeline demonstrates an uncanny ability to help herself to Ruthie's life. Is Adeline just being her fabulous self, or is she out to take what she wants?

When an eccentric billionaire, his wayward daughter, a coterie of social climbers, and Ruthie's old flame are thrown into the mix, the entire town finds itself on the verge of tumultuous change. But as Ruthie loses her grasp on her job, her home, and her family, she discovers a new talent for pushing back. By the end of one unhinged, unforgettable summer, nothing will be the same - least of all Ruthie.

In a novel packed with indelible characters, crackling wit, and upstairs/downstairs drama, Judy Blundell emerges as a voice for all seasons - a wry and original storyteller who knows how the most disruptive events in our lives can twist endings into new beginnings.

Advance praise for The High Season

"Blundell wields words like an oyster knife in this shimmering story of art, money, and celebrity. The High Season is wicked summer fun." - Helen Simonson, New York Times bestselling author of The Summer Before the War

"Touching, funny, and emotionally precise, recognizable yet full of surprises . . . Forget the Hamptons: Blundell's North Fork is where the real drama - and fun - blow in." - Cathleen Schine, New York Times bestselling author of The Three Weissmanns of Westport



About the Author

Judy Blundell

A pseudonym used by Judy Blundell has written books for middle grade, young adult, and adult readers under several pseudonyms. Her novel, Premonitions, was an ALA Reluctant Readers Best Picks and was chosen by the New York Public Library as a 2004 Best Books for the Teen Age. Among her forthcoming projects is Book #4 in the New York Times bestselling series, The 39 Clues. Judy Blundell lives in Katonah, New York, with her husband and daughter. 2008 National Book Award winner for her YA novel What I Saw and How I Lied, Judy Blundell is well known to Star Wars fans by her pseudonym, Jude Watson. What could be more fun than writing in your journal? Well, how about writing Queen Amidala's journal for her? Jude Watson is currently the most celebrated author in the prequel-era of the Star Wars phenomenon. She's no stranger to science fiction - her own series, entitled Danger. com, is a mystery series based on the Internet. Watson became involved with LucasBooks when an editor she had worked with in the past selected her to write Captive to Evil by Princess Leia Organa (Star Wars Journal) . Since then Watson has penned the Star Wars Jedi Apprentice series as well as journals for Queen Amidala and Darth Maul. Readers of the Queen Amidala journal become privy to all her top secrets such as why she applies her lipstick in such an odd manner and how she manages her two identities as Queen Amidala and as Padme. The book is a doorway to all her thoughts, fears and strategies for everything from dealing with droid blasts to negotiating with the less-than-trustworthy Neimoidians!In Jude's series, Jedi Quest, she explores the world of the Jedi through Jedi Master Obiwan Kenobi and his apprentice Anakin Skywalker. So how does Jude keep all the characters and events in order? Jude definitely relies on the movies and the folks at LucasBooks, and she has even used A Guide to the Star Wars Universe by Bill Slavicsek as a handy reference. Jude also credits the creative collaboration with Scholastic editor David Levithan and Lucas editors Jane Mason and Sarah Hines Stephens as being extremely helpful. On the Lucas editors, she comments, "They are also incredibly cool - not only do they know the Star Wars universe inside and out, they really urge writers to bring their own ideas to the table. "Although the books are written for children ranging from 9 to 13 years of age, Watson has found a large fan base with adults! That's not a surprise since the stories are not only timeless, but also universal. From Scholastic. com



Read Next Recommendation

Discuss with your friends


Report incorrect product information.