About this item

"Tightly paced and skillfully plotted, The Lost Night is a remarkable debut." - Jessica Knoll, New York Times bestselling author of Luckiest Girl Alive

What really happened the night Edie died? Years later, her best friend Lindsay will learn how unprepared she is for the truth.

In 2009, Edie had New York's social world in her thrall. Mercurial and beguiling, she was the shining star of a group of recent graduates living in a Brooklyn loft and treating New York like their playground. When Edie's body was found near a suicide note at the end of a long, drunken night, no one could believe it. Grief, shock, and resentment scattered the group and brought the era to an abrupt end.

A decade later, Lindsay has come a long way from the drug-addled world of Calhoun Lofts. She has devoted best friends, a cozy apartment, and a thriving career as a magazine's head fact-checker. But when a chance reunion leads Lindsay to discover an unsettling video from that hazy night, she starts to wonder if Edie was actually murdered - and, worse, if she herself was involved. As she rifles through those months in 2009 - combing through case files, old technology, and her fractured memories - Lindsay is forced to confront the demons of her own violent history to bring the truth to light.

Praise for The Lost Night

"[An] impressive debut with a nerve-wracking finish." - People

"A compulsively readable journey into the dark corners of memory. Bartz has crafted a terrifying and delicious narrative in the vein of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins." - Jo Piazza, bestselling coauthor of The Knockoff

"Andrea Bartz casts a nostalgic, misty haze over this story about a meticulous-minded woman playing detective with her own life. If you've ever woken up unsure of what happened the night before and then proceeded to do it again...oh my, this is your book." - Caroline Kepnes, author of You and Providence



About the Author

Andrea Bartz

Andrea Bartz is the coauthor of "Stuff Hipsters Hate: A Field Guide to the Passionate Opinions of the Indifferent," as well the Stuff Hipsters Hate blog. She's currently the deputy editor of Fit Pregnancy magazine and Natural Health magazine and has held positions at Glamour, Martha Stewart's Whole Living magazine, Psychology Today, and SELF. Her work has appeared in Details, Money, Women's Health, USA Today, Shape, Men's Health, Heeb, CNN.com, and other publications. She's currently working on a screenplay about some kids in Williamsburg. She enjoys wooded parks, good cheese, and live music.



Read Next Recommendation

Discuss with your friends


Report incorrect product information.