About this item

In a beach town overrun with vacationers and newly colonized by socialites, one woman goes to extreme lengths when the life she loves is upended. The ultimate summer read, this novel of money, class, and family is perfect for fans of Meg Wolitzer, Curtis Sittenfeld, and Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney's The Nest.

No matter what the world throws her way, at least Ruthie Beamish has the house. Lovingly renovated, located by the sea in a quiet village two ferry rides from the glitzier Hamptons, the house is Ruthie's nest egg - the retirement account shared with her ex-husband, Mike, and the college fund for their teenage daughter, Jem. The catch? To afford the house, Ruthie must let it go during the best part of the year.

It's Memorial Day weekend and Ruthie has packed up their belongings for what Jem calls "the summer bummer": the family's annual exodus to make way for renters. This year, the Hamptons set has arrived. Adeline Clay is elegant, connected, and accompanied by a "gorgeous satellite" stepson.

The widow of a blue-chip artist, in a world defined by luxury and ease, Adeline demonstrates an uncanny ability to help herself to Ruthie's life. Is Adeline just being her fabulous self, or is she out to take what she wants?

When an eccentric billionaire, his wayward daughter, a coterie of social climbers, and Ruthie's old flame are thrown into the mix, the entire town finds itself on the verge of tumultuous change. But as Ruthie loses her grasp on her job, her home, and her family, she discovers a new talent for pushing back. By the end of one unhinged, unforgettable summer, nothing will be the same - least of all Ruthie.

In a novel packed with indelible characters, crackling wit, and upstairs/downstairs drama, Judy Blundell emerges as a voice for all seasons - a wry and original storyteller who knows how the most disruptive events in our lives can twist endings into new beginnings.

"Sharply observed and beautifully written, The High Season is like a cold martini on a hot summer night: Refreshing and intoxicating at the same time." - Janelle Brown, New York Times bestselling author of Watch Me Disappear

"Judy Blundell's debut novel The High Season will hit the summer like a blazing comet of wit, poignancy, and lines that make one stop and sizzle with awe. I'm a fan of Judy Blundell for life!" - Mary Alice Monroe, New York Times bestselling author of Beach House Reunion



About the Author

Judy Blundell

Judy Blundell is a New York Times bestselling author of more than one hundred books for children. In 2008 she won the National Book Award for Young People's Literature for her novel, What I Saw and How I Lied. Her adult novel, The High Season, will be published by Random House in May 2018. Blundell was born in Brooklyn and grew up in Queens, New York. After a series of jobs in fields that English majors know-- waitressing, teaching, advertising, publishing, scrubbing laboratory glassware--she became a full-time writer. In her adult life she has lived in five states, several of them more than once, on both the East and West coasts. She has settled in Stony Brook, New York, where she lives within the sound of harbor foghorns with her husband and daughter.If you want to read a condensed version of her thoughts on a disorganized life, the process of writing, good books, early morning beach walks, long lunches with fellow writers, plus pictures, please follow her on Instagram at judyblundellbooks.



Read Next Recommendation

Discuss with your friends


Report incorrect product information.