About the Book

For fans of The Secret Garden, The Indian in the Cupboard, Tuck Everlasting, and The Giving Tree. In Darkling Wood is a spine-tingling novel with a forthright, modern heroine and more than a hint of mystery and magic. When Alice is suddenly bundled off to her estranged grandmother's Nell's house, there's nothing good about it, except the beautiful Darkling Wood at the end of the garden - but Nell wants to have it cut down. Alice feels at home there, at peace. She even finds a friend, a girl named Flo. But Flo doesn't go to the local school, and no one in town has heard of her. When Flo shows Alice the surprising secrets of Darkling Wood, Alice starts to wonder: what is real? And can she find out in time to save the wood from destruction? "Beautifully drawn, and the pragmatic prose and completely modern language (except for the letters) ground the story.



About the Author

Emma Carroll

Frost Hollow Hall' is Emma's debut novel for Faber and won the North East Book Award. Her second novel, 'The Girl Who Walked On Air' is set in a Victorian circus and was nominated for the Carnegie Medal 2015. 'Strange Star' was a Financial Times Book of the Year 2016, and her latest book 'Letters From the Lighthouse' was Waterstones Children's Book of the Month For May. 'In Darkling Wood' (published in the UK in 2015) is her first book for Delacorte Press. In another life she wishes she'd written 'Rebecca' by Daphne Du Maurier. Emma lives in the Somerset hills with her husband and three terriers.



Discuss the book with your friends