About this item

"Vivek Shanbhag is an Indian Chekhov." - Suketu Mehta, author of Maximum City"One of the best novels to have come out of India in recent decades." - Pankaj Mishra For readers of Akhil Sharma, Mohsin Hamid, and Teju Cole, a haunting, masterly novel about a family splintered by success in rapidly changing India Bangalore, present day. A young man's close-knit family is nearly destitute when his uncle founds a successful spice company, changing their fortunes overnight. As they move from a cramped, ant-infested shack to a larger house and try to adjust to a new way of life, allegiances realign; marriages are arranged and begin to falter; and conflict brews ominously in the background. Things become "ghachar ghochar" - a nonsense phrase uttered by one of the characters that comes to mean something tangled beyond repair, a knot that can't be untied.



About the Author

Vivek Shanbhag

Vivek Shanbhag writes in Kannada. He has published five short story collections, three novels and two plays, and has edited two anthologies, one of them in English. For 7 years from 2005 to 2012, he published and edited the literary journal Desha Kaala. Vivek's books are translated into many other Indian languages. His acclaimed novel Ghachar Ghochar was published in India in English translation in 2015.

Vivek's writing has appeared in Granta, Seminar, Indian Literature and Out of Print.

He was a Fall 2016 resident at the International Writing Program at the University of Iowa.

An engineer by training, Vivek Shanbhag lives in Bangalore, India.



Read Next Recommendation

Discuss with your friends


Report incorrect product information.