About this item

"Vivek Shanbhag is an Indian Chekhov." - Suketu Mehta, author of Maximum City"One of the best novels to have come out of India in recent decades." - Pankaj Mishra For readers of Akhil Sharma, Mohsin Hamid, and Teju Cole, a haunting, masterly novel about a family splintered by success in rapidly changing India Bangalore, present day. A young man's close-knit family is nearly destitute when his uncle founds a successful spice company, changing their fortunes overnight. As they move from a cramped, ant-infested shack to a larger house and try to adjust to a new way of life, allegiances realign; marriages are arranged and begin to falter; and conflict brews ominously in the background. Things become "ghachar ghochar" - a nonsense phrase uttered by one of the characters that comes to mean something tangled beyond repair, a knot that can't be untied.



Read Next Recommendation

Discuss with your friends


Report incorrect product information.