About this item

High-achieving women share their worst mistakes at work—and how learning from them paved the way to success.Named by Fast Company as a Top 10 Book You Need to Read This Year In Mistakes I Made at Work, a Publishers Weekly Top 10 Business Book for Spring 2014, Jessica Bacal interviews twenty-five successful women about their toughest on-the-job moments. These innovators across a variety of fields from the arts to finance to tech reveal that theyre more thoughtful, purposeful and assertive as leaders because they learned from their mistakes, not because they never made any. Interviewees include Cheryl Strayed, bestselling author of WildAnna Holmes, founding editor of Jezebel.comKim Gordon, founding member of the band Sonic YouthJoanna Barsch, Director Emeritus of McKinsey CompanyCarol Dweck, Stanford psychology professorRuth Ozeki, New York Times bestselling author of Tale for the Time BeingAnd many moreFor readers of Lean In and Girlboss, Mistakes I Made for Work is ideal for millenials just starting their careers, for women seeking to advance at work, or for anyone grappling with issues of perfectionism, and features fascinating and surprising anecdotes, as well as tips for readers.



About the Author

Jessica Bacal

Jessica Bacal directs the Wurtele Center for Work & Life at Smith College, an independent women's college in Massachusetts with students from every state and from 60 countries around the world. The center's programs teach leadership skills, life skills, stress reduction and reflection, asking students to think about questions like: What is your story? Where have you been and where are you going? What matters to you? What skills will help you to pursue what matters? What do you do if you don't know the answers?



Read Next Recommendation

Discuss with your friends


Report incorrect product information.