About this item

The first in a gripping fantasy duology inspired by West African folklore in which a grieving crown princess and a desperate refugee find themselves on a collision course to murder each other despite their growing attraction - from debut author Roseanne A. Brown. Perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi, Renée Ahdieh, and Sabaa Tahir. For Malik, the Solstasia festival is a chance to escape his war-stricken home and start a new life with his sisters in the prosperous desert city of Ziran. But when a vengeful spirit abducts his younger sister, Nadia, as payment to enter the city, Malik strikes a fatal deal - kill Karina, Crown Princess of Ziran, for Nadia's freedom. But Karina has deadly aspirations of her own. Her mother, the Sultana, has been assassinated; her court threatens mutiny; and Solstasia looms like a knife over her neck.



About the Author

Roseanne A. Brown

Roseanne "Rosie" A. Brown was born in Kumasi, Ghana and immigrated to the wild jungles of central Maryland as a child. Writing was her first love, and she knew from a young age that she wanted to use the power of writing--creative and otherwise--to connect the different cultures she called home. She graduated from the University of Maryland with a Bachelor's in Journalism and was also a teaching assistant for the school's Jiménez-Porter Writers' House program. Her journalistic work has been featured by Voice of America among other outlets.On the publishing side of things, she has worked as an editorial intern at Entangled Publishing. Rosie was a 2017 Pitch Wars mentee and 2018 Pitch Wars mentor. Never content to stay in any one place for too long, Rosie currently lives near Washington D.C., where in her free time she can usually be found singing to her dog, explaining memes to her elderly relatives, or thinking about Star Wars.Rosie is represented by Quressa Robinson of Nelson Literary Agency.



Read Next Recommendation

Report incorrect product information.