About this item

Fans of Lauren Myracle and Wendy Mass will love acclaimed author Lisa Greenwald's new duology about two best friends who kick-start middle school with a bucket list of eleven things they need to do to become AMAZING before their joint twelfth birthday party.

The first day of middle school means trading in freeze tag at the pool for new schedules, fabulous outfits, and a fresh start. But for eleven-year-old Kaylan, the chaos of new locker combinations, cafeteria cliques, and potential first kisses is more than she can handle. She dreads the start of sixth grade and feels like she wants - no, needs - a winning game plan.

Luckily, Kaylan and her effortlessly chill BFF, Arianna, have a fool-proof plan for tackling transitions: a list of eleven things they need to do to totally transform themselves before they both turn twelve in November. But between making guy friends, getting detention (and makeovers!) , helping humanity, and having super-candid conversations with their moms about their flaws, the first 100 days of school turn out worse than Kaylan ever imagined. Kaylan and Ari forget to focus on their friendship and soon their loyalty to the list - what was meant to help them keep it together - becomes the very thing tearing their lives apart.



About the Author

Lisa Greenwald

A long bio can be kind of boring, so instead I'm going to pretend that a famous journalist (maybe Barbara Walters) is interviewing me. The only thing is, I'm making up the questions. If you think of any other questions you'd like me to answer, send me an email and ask away! Q. Where did you grow up?A. I lived in Fairfield, Connecticut until the end of fifth grade and then I moved to Roslyn Heights, New York. That's on Long Island. But I don't have a bad Lawn Guyland accent, I promise. Q. Do you have any siblings?A. Yes, I have two younger brothers. I always wanted a sister, but it's kind of nice being the only daughter in the family, and my brothers and I are really close. Q. What about the rest of your family? Are you close with them too?A. Yes, family is really important to me. I talk to my parents and grandparents every day. Q. Are you married?A. Yes, to a fabulous guy named Dave. We met at sleep away camp when I was sixteen. Q. Do you have any kids?A. Yes, my daughter Aleah Violet Rosenberg was born on May 28th, 2010 and I personally think she's the cutest baby in the world, but of course I am biased. Q. Do you have any pets?A. I had a miniature toy poodle named Yoffi, but he died in 2007. I miss him so much. Q. That's sad. Do you think you will get another dog?A. I would love to adopt one very soon! Q. What is your favorite book?A. Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt is my favorite book in the whole entire world. I read it in sixth grade in Ms. Mayer's class. I have read many books since then, but Tuck Everlasting is still my absolute favorite. Q. What is your favorite movie?A. I have two. Clueless and Avalon. Q. What's one of the craziest things that's ever happened to you?A. I won a radio contest at the end of eighth grade! Someone from Z100 called me up and asked me to say the "phrase that pays" and I answered correctly. I won a thousand dollars.Q. Did you always want to be a writer?A. No, not always. I wanted to be a hair stylist, then a concert pianist, then a rabbi. But I always loved making up stories, so I think writing is the perfect job for me.Q. Where did you go to college?A. I went to Binghamton University in upstate New York. I was an English major with a concentration in creative writing. It's reallllllllly cold in Binghamton. Then two years after I graduated college, I went to The New School to get my MFA in writing for children. Q. You mentioned that you met Dave at sleep away camp. Did you really like sleep away camp?A. YES! I loved it. I went to Eisner Camp in Great Barrington, Massachusetts. I would go back to camp forever if only I could. Sleep away camp is the best place in the world.Q. Tell me some other things you really like.A. Okay. Here's a short list: sleeping late, fancy hotels, reading and writing (duh!,) peanut m&ms, flip flops, sweatpants, people watching, New York City, cheese omelets, weddings, pedicures, looking at old pictures an



Read Next Recommendation

Discuss with your friends


Report incorrect product information.