About this item

Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam—a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion—a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant.There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed . . .On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office—leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin.But Nellas world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift a cabinet-sized replica of their home.



About the Author

Jessie Burton

Jessie Burton is an English author and actress. As of 2015, she is most well-known for her internationally published debut novel, The Miniaturist. Bio from Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia.



Read Next Recommendation

Discuss with your friends


Report incorrect product information.