About this item

New York Times and USA Today Bestseller!In the tradition of Kristin Hannah and Susan Wiggs, Mary McNear introduces readers to the town of Butternut Lake and to the unforgettable people who call it home.It's summer, and after ten years away, Allie Beckett has returned to her family's cabin beside tranquil Butternut Lake, where as a teenager she spent so many carefree days. She's promised her five-year-old son, Wyatt, they will be happy there. She's promised herself this is the place to begin again after her husband's death in Afghanistan. The cabin holds so many wonderful memories, but from the moment she crosses its threshold Allie is seized with doubts. Has she done the right thing uprooting her little boy from the only home he's ever known?Allie and her son are embraced by the townsfolk, and her reunions with old acquaintances - her friend Jax, now a young mother of three with one more on the way, and Caroline, the owner of the local coffee shop - are joyous ones.

About the Author

Mary McNear

Mary McNear is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Butternut Lake series. All three books in the Butternut Lake Trilogy are now available: Up at Butternut Lake, Butternut Summer, and Moonlight on Butternut Lake. Up at Butternut Lake was on the New York Times and USA Today bestseller lists. Butternut Summer was listed on the USA Today top 100 books in 2014. A novella, Butternut Lake: The Night Before Christmas, is available in paperback and ebook. Mary's fourth novel, The Space Between Sisters, was published in June 2016. Her fifth novel, The Light in Summer, is due out June 20, 2017.

Mary McNear lives in San Francisco with her husband, two children, and a high-strung minuscule white dog named Macaroon. She bases her Butternut Lake novels on a lifetime of summers spent in a small town on a lake in the northern Midwest.

Read Next Recommendation

Discuss with your friends

Report incorrect product information.